I roll pretty hard when I put together a build. Mostly, it’s that I don’t screw around, I find a challenge, and then I beat it into submission. Unless, of course, I don’t, in which case I sulk off and go back to trolling Facebook or Reddit. But that hardly ever happens, yo.

Take for instance the Goat Webcam project. As soon as I knew I was going to do this, I checked out the Raspberry Pi wifi adapter listing and tried finding something that would be able to do dual-band networking on 802.11n. It’s not that I need (or that the RPi can support) 300Mbps throughput, because I seriously doubt this little board could sustain that kind of beating. Realistically, this is more about being able to play in the 5GHz radio spectrum, with the ability to stream something at about 4-5Mbps wirelessly without being completely hosed by everything else that crowds the 2.4GHz band (for instance, the neighbor’s 2.4GHz WiFi access point with the SSID “F*ck Off”, except without the *). Read the rest of this entry »

