Archives for the day of: February 18, 2014

NYC Resistor: 30th Anniversary Macintosh

I’ve been storing a Macintosh Classic (which sadly doesn’t function properly any longer) that I picked up as salvage a couple years ago. I definitely want to replace the guts with something more geekly than the 6800-based original Mac hardware. To that end, I wonder: do I tear out the old CRT and replace it with a more modern and recent LCD, or do I try to go the full geek route and go after recreating the display circuit from the original Mac hardware using something like a BeagleBone Black?

I’m confident the first way can be done; however, here’s evidence that leaving the original CRT in place is an option too. Color me intrigued.

I think perhaps that the coolest promise that Galileo represents is that all of the extra goodness you find on the board (built-in Ethernet, USB host, Micro SD, Mini-PCIe slot, etc.) are all made available in the Arduino IDE, but at no pin cost to the Arduino headers itself.

That is, if you tried to implement all of those built-in features using separate shields, you’d have almost nothing left to interface with. So, I’m getting at least one of these.

