Oh. My. God.

You know that feeling. The feeling when you hold a real tool in your hand for the first time.

It has heft. It feels like a tool. Your mind instantly starts to work out all the projects that you can do with it, because it calls out to be used, to be exploited.

That’s what this Hakko soldering station felt, the moment I opened the box. It came with a sheet in an actual sheet protector, listing all of the soldering tips you can buy, complete with technical specs and dimensions for each one. I mean, who does this anymore? Apparently, Hakko does it.

I haven’t gushed over a tool like this in many years, and most of those were things like router tables, CNC machines, 3D printers, hot air rework tools and the like. Gushing over a soldering iron just isn’t one of those things a jaded geek gets excited about.

That’s how good this is.

Oh the things we will create together, my sweet.

Oh the things we will create together, my sweet.

I used to think that spending $100 on a soldering iron was a waste. The real waste was not spending that money sooner, so that I could experience this feeling.

It’s the feeling of unrestrained possibility. I love it.

